top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

I Peed With the Snakes- The updated version

My advanced functions teacher last semester has taught me many valuable lessons about having good work habits and the importance of being a good student in school. The most memorable thing that he said to me during class was " do not be afraid, just be a little ascared"-M.Y. It would be an understatement to say that during this adventure in Guatemala that I have been scared. There have been many times during this trip that I have really needed to trust that God is in control no matter the circumstances. It began when we needed to make a quick stop on the side of the road and Davinsky advised us to wait until we returned to the hotel. It was urgent and I could not wait. Mom I am sorry but I had to pee with the snakes.

As many of you know, yesterday I celebrated my 18th birthday! I feel so blessed to have spent this special day with 20 of the most kind and caring people I know. Unfortunately, I had to visit a Guatemalan hospital after eating soemthing that upset my stomach. I had to get an IV drip and some medication but I am happy to tell you that I am almost back to feeling 100 percent. Thank you so much to the World Renew staff, especially Davinsky for staying by my side during this challenge and doing everything he could to make sure that I got the medical attention that I needed.

Getting sick was something that I did not think about before embarking on this adventure but I know that it was part of Gods plan for my trip. Overcoming this obstacle proved to be very challenging at times and I felt defeated. My math teacher always encouraged me that being fearful or feeling scared about things that we can not control is natural and that it is okay to feel this way. In this case, I needed to whole heartedly trust that God was in control of this situation. Thank you so much for all of your prayers for me aswell as the rest of the team! I know that without the support from all of you that this trip would have been very difficult.

Ive over come so many challenges over the past ten days and I am so thankful for the opportunity to serve my brothers and sisters around the world. One thing that has really touched me on this trip is being able to shine Gods love through myself to others. regardless of the place that we live, culture, or language, love is something that anyone can share. Thank you for coming along on this adventure!!

shalom

Jasmine


bottom of page